One Month Down…7 More To Go…So Here’s A Review

So it’s official, I’ve been living in Córdoba for a month. Can’t quite believe it, I guess I’ve just been so busy I haven’t really noticed how quickly it’s gone in. Therefore, I thought it would be a good idea to do a review of my first month (which will also make me interim report for uni at the start of November) a whole lot easier. Yes, you heard me, I have to write about how i’m getting on and report back to my uni! NOT. FAIR! Anyway, I thought I’d start with the bad and end on a positive note with the good things about my time here! Here it goes….

The Bad…

1.The Crazy Weather

So before packing I figured the South of Spain would still be quite warm and sunny so I literally packed a suitcase full of pretty summery clothes. Well..the first week in the hostel was the complete opposite! Torrential rain! I was so close to flying back home. Then, after watching the news I realized the whole of Spain was experiencing floods and it could have been a whole lot worse in Cordoba. Eventually it brightened up…I mean it got really, really HOT. Thankfully it’s starting to cool down so I can walk about in jeans and not feel like a complete tourist.

 2. The Andalusian Accent

Ok, I’ve been to Andalusia and knew people cut off ‘s’ from the end of words etc but I was not expecting it to be so strong here. People take it to a whole other level in Córdoba and talk extremely fast too, yay for me!  One shop assistant asked me ‘que buca‘ instead of ‘que buscas?‘…she got a very blank stare for about 5 minutes, and needless to say, I haven’t been in the shop since!

3. Salmorejo

I thought the only Spanish ‘cold’ soup that existed in Spain was gazpacho. Well I was wrong, turns out Cordobans love salmorejo a slightly more thick, creamy more tomato based soup….its still COLD though, no me gusta!

4. Workload as a Language Assistant

I work in a bilingual school and have classes with 7 teachers. I thought I would be helping children with their work in English  pronunciation, grammar etc. It turns out I’ve had to help out in  subjects which I stopped doing years ago like Science and Geography.  Teaching joints in the PE class wasn’t so bad though…I think they appreciated the ‘head, shoulders, knees and toes’ song in my PowerPoint presentation. ‘Catchy’ was the reaction I got…oh children what a deprived childhood you’ve all had!

5. Tapas Restaurants

Everyone loves a good tapas bar don’t they? It’s such a cheap and easy way to eat and share food with friends the odd time. Well ‘the odd time‘ is ‘all the time‘ here because no other restaurants exist…believe me I’ve looked! If you want to eat out, you will have to eat tapas. Frankly I’m looking forward to going home and having a meal where all my food is on ONE PLATE and I can pretend I’m Joey from Friends and say ‘Emma doesn’t share food.’ Until then…my kitchen will be getting abused a lot.

6. Siesta Shut Down

The siesta is such a nice Spanish custom…who wouldn’t love a nap in the middle of the day? It’s ok if you lie down for half an hour and shut your eyes, but when you wake up and realize you have no water, milk or general food etc and the shops are shut, and you need to go to the bank (all banks close in Spain at 2 by the way), it gets a little irritating.

7. No Money But I Want You So

I get an Erasmus Grant. Even though I’m working as a language assistant I still have Erasmus ‘status’…but it hasn’t magically appeared in my bank account yet. Hopefully it does at the end of October or I will not be a happy bunny. I knew it might have been a bit late due to the recession etc, but our university confirmed we would definitely be receiving it..so it better hurry up…I have clothes to buy!

 

The Good….

1.Shops

Zara, Bershka, Stravidarius, H &M, Six, Mango, Pull & Bear, can all be found in the city center  There is also a Primark in the nearby shopping center. This makes me very happy..wonder where my Erasmus money will be going?

2. Travel

It is so cheap to travel here! I went to Seville on Saturday for 22 euro, and that was with a return ticket. I will most definitely be returning.

Me and another language assistant enjoying the view of Seville!

3. Tinto de Verano 

Red wine with lemonade, in a bottle for one euro…what’s not to like?

4. Just Keep Walking

You can literally walk everywhere in Cordoba. I eventually understood this is what people meant when they said ‘Cordoba is a small city’. Hey, I can walk to Primark in less than half an hour so I can’t complain.

5. Neox and MTV España

I can watch ‘The Big Bang Theory’ and ‘How I Met Your Mother’, it is really badly dubbed, but Sheldon’s face makes me feel at home. MTV actually has the same programmes, and a new one, the Spanish version of Geordie Shore, Gandía Shore on Sundays at half ten. A perfect, cringe worthy way to end the weekend.

6. The Jewish Quarter

As I mentioned before in my previous post, this is my favourite part of the city. Every time I go, I feel like I’m stepping back in time, I don’t know whether this is because I literally am stepping back in time because I end up walking around in circles through the windy streets or if its because I feel like an Arabian princess when I’m beside The Mezquita.

La Puente Romano, Jewsih Quarter, Cordoba

7. Pablo Alboran 

In my opinion he is a much better looking Spanish version of Ed Sheeran. Check out ‘Solamente Tú’

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=F0rwOsAteXM

So there it is…one month down…seven more to go! 🙂

This entry was published on October 24, 2012 at 4:43 pm. It’s filed under Monthly Review and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Follow any comments here with the RSS feed for this post.

One thought on “One Month Down…7 More To Go…So Here’s A Review

  1. A brilliant blog post! I’m glad to hear your year abroad in Córdoba has started well! I completely know what you mean about the Andalusian accent (I promise you will get used to this after a while… about three months in you’ll start dropping your s’s and d’s and when you venture outside Andalucía, correctly pronounced Spanish will just sound wrong :D) and the siesta shutdown (I never got used to this but a lot of people just embraced it haha!). Oh! How I miss tinto de verano… many a very happy night spent drinking that 🙂

    Have fun and I can’t wait for the next one!

    Nicola

Leave a Reply

