Jingle bells and el misterio de las ayudas mensuales

So this is it, my official last week of teaching of 2012. Its hard to believe I arrived  here 3 months ago, it feels like I´ve been here for three years.

Anyway, these past few weeks since Madrid haven´t been that eventful, the truth is I´ve been very homesick particularly when I found out my mum was going in for an operation. I just wanted to hug her and I couldn´t…it was thee worst feeling ever. However know that I know shes at home now and Ill see here in 2 days I feel better. In fact, I am trying to create the moment in mind so it can be like a slow motion run and then well both burst into tears just like in a movie. If she doesnt cry it will be an epic fail!

Luckily, the festive spirit here in Cordoba has cheered me up…we actually have an ice rink! The nearest ice rink to me is about an hour away at home and this one is like a five minute walk… I felt like a kid in a candy shop when I seen it, then I realised I hadnt ice skated in years which freaked me out. I had visions of me falling over and twisiting my ankle and being carried off in a stretcher, then spending Christmas in hospital with only an old lady named Rosario to keep me company. Fortunately I didnt fall, not even once! Yay me!

I´ve also made two new Spanish friends. The teacher in my school knew two university students who wanted to improve their English, so I went with my flatmate to meet up with them.  I honestly think it was the most Spanish I´ve learnt since I´ve been here. Hopefully they will continue to empower with me with their colloquial phrases and I will be fluent by the time June comes.

Also, I have made a discovery this week. For all of you who don´t know…there is an actual second verse in jingle bells. I kid you not:

A day or two ago
I thought I’d take a ride
And soon, Miss Fanny Bright
Was seated by my side,
The horse was lean and lank
Misfortune seemed his lot
He got into a drifted bank
And then we got upsot

You can make up your own inneundos for this one. Now imagine actually SINGING it infront of a first year class and their music teacher when they didnt have a clue what it meant. It was very difficult for me to keep a straight face.

I would like to say that I am being paid for these embarrassing situations but I can´t. All the language assitants have received an email saying that this week..ironically the last week of teaching, we will be receiving three months pay. Its Wednesday and it´s still not in my bank account. Ministerio I will believe it when I see it..I mean how can they afford to pay practically every auxiliare in the country over  2000 euros straight up when they dont have money? My granny better give me something when I go home or I will be out begging on the street when my Erasmus grant runs out.

On a brighter note…Cordoba looks really pretty and its full of Belenś (nativity scenes).

Wishing you all a very Merry Christmas,

See you next year xImagen

Imagen

This entry was published on December 19, 2012 at 11:40 am. It’s filed under Monthly Review and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Follow any comments here with the RSS feed for this post.

Leave a Reply

